Effective prayer Pt. 3

Back to my original issue: I said that “Right now I’m in one of those ‘Prayer is hard and seems to do so little good'” phases. I’m still looking…

What other things in me and in my life can cause prayer to be difficult? I’d like to take that by its self and see what can be identified.

Why do I pray? I have heard it stated, “That God already knows my needs before I ask. And He does according to His will because He knows what’s best for me anyway.” Is my effort just a futile exercise? I think I need Scripture on this one…

First bit of information that I come up with is that the word pray or derivations of it such as prayer or praying is found 159 times in the New Testament of the NIV bible. (Ain’t Bible software great?). So prayer is considered pretty important by God. He did inspire the writing of Scripture, so He put those scriptures there for a purpose. Some verses:

Mt 6:5 “And when you pray…” [When]

Mt 6:6 “And when you pray…” [When]

Mt 6:7 “And when you pray…” [When]

Mt 21:22 “If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.” [Receive!]

Lu 6:12 One of those days Jesus went out to a mountainside to pray, and spent the night praying to God. [Jesus prayed all night!]

James 5: 14) Is any sick among you? let him call for the elders of the church; and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord:
15) And the prayer of faith shall save the sick, and the Lord shall raise him up; and if he have committed sins, they shall be forgiven him.
16) Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.

So prayer is not a futile effort. [Jesus half Brother pretty well says it all]

Almost every instance of the word “Pray” that I found could be used to refute the idea that prayer is not needed or not useful. Definitely not a reason for my “Ineffectual” issue…

So, I personally still have the issue of “Prayer is hard and seems to do so little good”

I need a little brainstorming here. It’s difficult to brainstorm by yourself, But here goes:

One Man Brainstorm

Things that might make it difficult to pray good prayers / or that cause one’s prayers to fail to be effective.

  1. Wrong words prayed?
  2. Define “good” prayers…
  3. Define “effective” prayers …
  4. Spiritual battle?
  5. Lack of faith on my part
  6. Lack or faith on the person being prayed for
  7. Sin in my life or the recipients
  8. Just a dry spell
  9. Expectations to high on my part?
  10. Praying at bad times of the day?
  11. Praying for issues that are not mine to pray for?

I haven’t written much today, but this list is going to take some time to work down. I’m going to noodle this for a while and see if I come up with more brainstorms ideas or How to pursue my list…

This is fun!

Ron

About Ron

Former life - Quality Engineer / retired Current life - Prayer minister / Prayer Counselor / Retired
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

