Effective Prayer Pt. 4

Yesterday I ended with a brainstorming list in hand. A list of Things that might make it difficult to pray good prayers / or that cause one’s prayers to fail to be effective. “As I have looked at that list I realize that it is far from complete. Here’s the list again (I added some new ideas, in red, that I came up with while I studied the list). Probably still pretty incomplete, but I’ll run with it:

  1. Wrong words prayed?
  2. Define “good” prayers…,
  3. Define “effective” prayers …
  4. Spiritual battle?
  5. Lack of faith on my part
  6. Lack or faith on the person being prayed for
  7. Sin in my life or the recipients
  8. Just a dry spell
  9. Expectations to high on my part?
  10. Praying at bad times of the day?
  11. Praying for issues that are not mine to pray for?
  12. My relationship with the Father is not in good condition.
  13. My relationships with others is not right
  14. Attitude

 

As a side thought, but important to this exercise in “Ruminating” – I looked at the verses that I put near the top of yesterday’s post. But this time I looked at the whole scripture verse to see if there was anything further that I could glean from it. Interesting that most of the verses were instructions as to what to do when you pray. Here are the verses in more detail and a thought that came to mind as I read:

Mtt 6:5 “And when you pray, you shall not be like the hypocrites. For they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the corners of the streets, that they may be seen by men.

“When you pray” was my point earlier. Looking at the rest of the verse I find further insights. It’s easy to get a little prideful when you have a prayer ministry (or any other kind of ministry for that matter) that is going well. So I can look at my attitude about prayer in general and especially about my attitude about how good I am at it! [Attitude] [Sin in my life/pride]

Mtt 6:7 “And when you pray, do not use vain repetitions as the heathen do. For they think that they will be heard for their many words.

Not the real meaning to this verse, but it puts this picture in my head. Have I gotten to a point where instead of following the leading of the Holy Spirit when I pray, do I follow my own agenda of prayers that “Have worked before in a situation like this?” Praying flowery, elegant prayers that might impress others. [Attitude][Define “good” prayers]

Mtt 21:22 “And whatever things you ask in prayer, believing, you will receive.”

I emphasized the “Receive” aspect of this verse earlier. I also need to remember the word “believing”. There is an aspect of faith in prayer that is necessary. The best prayer in the world, said by someone who is pretty sure it will fail – will! [Lack of faith on my part]

Mrk 11:25 “And whenever you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive him, that your Father in heaven may also forgive you your trespasses.

Here’s another big issue. Our life needs to be in order to see prayer answered. This one hits pretty close to home for this “it’s all about me” generation. If you have serious issues with another believer your prayer may be in jeopardy. Practicing a little forgiveness is definitely called for in this case. This list is really opening my eyes to some issues in my life and perhaps in others that I know. A little repenting is in order here! [My relationships with others is not right][My relationship with the Father is not in good condition]

Luk 6:12 Now it came to pass in those days, that He went out to the mountain to pray, and continued all night in prayer to God.

One last point and then I’ll move on. In this verse Jesus is shown as separating Himself from the crowd and praying all night. How many of us have ever prayed all night? Maybe, if you are sitting with a loved one that is very sick or even dying. But that was not the case for Jesus in this verse. So perhaps sometimes we need to persevere in the things we are praying for. Proverbs 3:5 says: Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. Trust Him and keep praying!

 

Where am I at with my Brainstorm list? I’ve crossed out the ones I feel that I have covered…

  1. Wrong words prayed?
  2. Define “good” prayers…
  3. Define “effective” prayers …
  4. Spiritual battle?
  5. Lack of faith on my part
  6. Lack or faith on the person being prayed for
  7. Sin in my life or the recipients
  8. Just a dry spell
  9. Expectations to high on my part?
  10. Praying at bad times of the day?
  11. Praying for issues that are not mine to pray for?
  12. My relationship with the Father is not in good condition.
  13. My relationships with others is not right
  14. Attitude

 

I want to dig a little more on my list, but I’ve written enough for today. I’ll continue with the Brainstorming list tomorrow

Pray today…

About Ron

Former life - Quality Engineer / retired Current life - Prayer minister / Prayer Counselor / Retired
This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

