The Red Letters

I have been strangely drawn to the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John lately.

More specifically I am drawn to the words attributed to Jesus and printed in Red in my primary study bible.

Since I am only a couple days from finishing my yearlong study through the bible, and because I would rather wait until the beginning of the year to start through again,
I am feeling like I ought to do some “Ruminating” on the Red Words.

 

As a believer and a follower of Jesus, it seems to me to be the highest priority to know and understand more about the words of Jesus and what they mean to me / to us, today.

My method for doing this will be the same one I have been using for some time:

  • I find or form a reading program to follow.
  • I read each day, looking for what stands out to me that day.
  • I do some research using various study tools
  • Then I meditate or “Ruminate” on the scripture and the additional information that I have found.

It may sound time consuming, but using my computer and a good bible program – I do it all in an hour or less per day.

Before I start I would like to share some of my thoughts about these “Red Letters” in general.

I stated above that I think the “Red Letters” are important because they are the words of Jesus. A quick cruise on the Information Highway gives me a possible count of the words of Jesus that are recorded in the Bible. The only actual count I could find said that the Bible recorded 36,450 words / 1,599 verses of Jesus. There is some inconsistency due to there being so many Bible translations. I didn’t count them myself! Suffice it to say that however many words there are, they are important. The Holy Spirit saw fit to record the ones we have for us to read.

With only 3 years of ministry to speak to us, it seems that Jesus would be telling us the important stuff to help us live our lives to the fullest. So when He said that we are to love one another, it was to improve the quality of our life as well as to emulate Him. When He said “Judge not that you be not judged” He was telling us of a Divine Law. That law is summed up in
Galatians 6:7 – Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. So I believe I will find much in my Red Letter study that will be warning me of Divine Law. It’s not punishment. Rather it is a warning of a consequence. The most often used example of a divine law is that it is like the natural law of gravity. No one is mad at you and no one is looking to punish you. But whether you believe in the law of gravity or not, the outcome will always be the same if you step of the top of a tall building!

 

I believe that in my study of the Red Words I will find much that will help me to “Live life to the full” and much to warn me of consequences when I break Gods Divine law.

 

We’ll see what I find!!

Blessings

Ron

About Ron

Former life - Quality Engineer / retired Current life - Prayer minister / Prayer Counselor / Retired
This entry was posted in The Red Letters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

