Fanatics!

Luke 6

46 “But why do you call Me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do the things which I say?

This verse is part of the driving force that started me on my “Rumination” of the Red Letters in the first place. I believe it ought to make us all think!

I’m not going to be judgmental today, unless it’s with myself. And I don’t intend to get too theological either. This verse seems pretty clear, if we take the time to ponder and maybe break it apart a bit.

The question is simple. It starts with, “But why do you call Me ‘Lord, Lord,’

Using the term “Lord, Lord” might be called an emphatic declaration. It makes this verse unique and vital right away. There are only few times in Scripture that a name or title is said twice. R.C. Sproul claims that in the language of that day it indicated extreme endearment. So do I say Lord you are emphatically / totally my Lord – and do not do the things which I (Jesus) say?

And the things that Jesus said are the focus of my Red Letters posts. I did a quick look-up and the two words “I say” show up in the four Gospels 142 times (NKJV). I didn’t check every one but in the sample I did, those two words were said every time by Jesus. So If I tie these thoughts together…

“But why do you call Me ‘Lord, Lord,’ and do not do the things which I (said and are recorded in Scripture 142 times)?

Just a short post, but think about the things that Jesus said, that are recorded in Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. They are so important to us as Christians. Things like judging others, murder, adultery, divorce, oaths, giving, prayer, etc. etc. etc. I know that people who “take everything in the Bible too seriously” are considered fanatics or Jesus Freaks. OK! I’m going to work on that… Becoming a better fanatic that is! I called a friend of mine a Jesus Freak many years ago and his comeback was that to him that just meant that he loved Jesus more than I. Makes sense!

Join me in becoming the best fanatics / Jesus Freaks that we can in following the things that Jesus said. Then maybe we won’t have to worry as much about my other fearful verse:

Mathew 7

21 “Not everyone who says to Me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ shall enter the kingdom of heaven, but he who does the will of My Father in heaven.

22 “Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’

23 “And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

Short today as I’m not seeing well out of the eye I had surgery on, on Monday.

Be Fanatics

Ron

PS

Another phrase that comes to mind. I have heard it many times – don’t really know who said it, I think it was said to D.L.Moody. It says something like, “The world has yet to see what a man totally sold out to Jesus could do”.

About Ron

Former life - Quality Engineer / retired Current life - Prayer minister / Prayer Counselor / Retired
This entry was posted in Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fanatics!

  1. I enjoy your writing. You obviously are a learned man of God. I wish we had, had opportunity to spend more time together in our lives. God is good! Russ

  2. Donna Brown says:

    Ron,
    thanks again for your blogs. Ralf and I are being encouraged and prompted by God’s word and your insight! It is wonderful to have you and Joann as our Christian neighbors who love God’s Word and what it has to say to us. Keep up your bloging! Im not sure I would know how to blog. and how do you get the snow to snow ??
    God Bless

Leave a Reply

