Doing the Stuff!

John 10

37 “If I do not do the works of My Father, do not believe Me;

38 “but if I do, though you do not believe Me, believe the works, that you may know and believe that the Father is in Me, and I in Him.”

So the thought I “Ruminate on” today is “If I do not do the works of My Father, do not believe Me

“If I do not do… do not believe” – implies – “If I do the works … believe”

Now stick with me for a bit here. There’s a thought in my noggin and I’m trying to flesh it out.

In Mt 16:18 as Jesus gave Simon a new name (and a future commission) He said: “And I also say to you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build My church, and the gates of Hades shall not prevail against it.

If we believe (or don’t believe) in Jesus because of the works that He did while in His earthly ministry, could we then expect that the world may also look at “His Church” in
the same way? I have a concern that as “His Church” we all too often are not working as we should be for the kingdom. I love the statement attributed to John Wimber when he was just a brand new believer:

After attending church one Sunday morning he supposedly went up to the Pastor or some other leader and asked the simple question, “When do we start doing the stuff”. Puzzled, the person inquired, “What stuff are you talking about?” John answered by holding up his Bible and saying, “The stuff that’s in here!”

With simple faith, he believed the words of Scripture such as in John 14:12 that state from the lips of Jesus, “Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father.”

John Wimber proceeded to begin a stream of churches where the extraordinary was expected. No church, including the Vineyard movement is perfect, but I think more of “His Churches” should be “doing the stuff”. We need to have the faith that God is Greater than all of the issues around us. We need to be praying long, hard and regularly for His intervention in situations around us – And then expecting Him to answer. Not name it and claim it requests but requests that reflect the heart of Jesus.

And – when we do, I believe the world will begin to once again look at “His Church” and believe…

Start doing the stuff – and expect great things!!

Ron

About Ron

Former life - Quality Engineer / retired Current life - Prayer minister / Prayer Counselor / Retired
This entry was posted in Christianity, The Red Letters. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Doing the Stuff!

  1. Russ Schallock says:

    Good morning, You are obviously doing your STUFF by sharing the STUFF you STUFFED into my head this morning. One thing nice about getting into the word of God is that you can never get to much STUFF, or over STUFFED.

    PS: It is a treat to read the STUFF in your blogs.

Leave a Reply

