Promises, Promises, Promises

John 14:1 “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.”

  1. Verse 2 “…
    I go to prepare a place for you.”
  2. Verse 6 “… No one comes to the Father except through Me.”
  3. Verse 12-14 “… works that I do he will do also; and greater … If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.”
  4. Verse 15-17 “… He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever”
  5. Verse 18-24 “… I will not leave you orphans”
  6. Verse 25 f: “…the Holy Spirit … will teach you all things, and bring to your remembrance all things that I said to you.”
  7. Verse 27 “… Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you…”

The Gospel of John, the 14th chapter… you should read it in its entirety yourself.

As I read this chapter this morning I found seven things that Jesus said will happen to me when I follow His command to “believe also in Me.” You might well find more promises buried in there (or less).

I know that I am treading just a bit in the area of Dispensationalism and/or the Cessationists here – but “Damn the Torpedoes – full speed ahead!” The promises are there and why would they be there if they were only for a small group of people 2000 years ago?

So the seven excerpts above tell me that there is another place besides this that I will see and live in. There is a caveat in that I must be a believer in Jesus. It’s not an “everyone goes to Heaven” promise is it? The words say … “believe in God, believe also in Me.” And promise #2 no one gets to that place with the Heavenly Father except through Jesus. Still pretty clear…

Oh, and by the way – while you are still here my #3 says that the things Jesus did, I will do also and more! I have a very hard time envisioning “More” but He said it and I believe it and that settles that.

The next three items speak of how this happens. When Jesus left this earthly realm, He left a replacement. That replacement is able to work “greater” only because He can be in everyone who asks for Him to be there (all the time). So that’s why Jesus said that we would do greater works than He did! There are millions of us that can do His Works.

And lastly, Jesus left His peace for us. Through all kinds of difficulties we can be at peace knowing that He is always there with us. We may still have to go through many things, but He is there to give us His peace if we but receive it.

So: If we believe in Him, He has a place set aside waiting for us when we are finished with this life and we will see and know God the Father intimately. While we are here we have been empowered to be a blessing to the world and to proclaim His name to it. We have a Spiritual helper to help us in everything we do…

How can we pass up a deal like this? We shouldn’t. Accept Him as Savior and Lord and then start to exclaim as my good friend Scotty so often does – “Praise Jesus”

Ron

About Ron

Former life - Quality Engineer / retired Current life - Prayer minister / Prayer Counselor / Retired
This entry was posted in Christianity, The Red Letters. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Promises, Promises, Promises

  1. Russ Schallock says:

    As usual, great food and inspiration to be passed along. I love your motivation and I continue to follow along. Ahhhhh yes, the meat of the word . . . nothing like it.

Leave a Reply

