Using our Talents…

12 Therefore He said: “A certain nobleman [Jesus?] went into a far country to receive for himself a kingdom and to return.

13 “So he called ten of his servants, delivered to them ten minas, and said to them, ‘Do business till I come.’

15 “And so it was that when he returned, … he then commanded these servants, … to be called to him, that he might know how much every man had gained by trading.

16 “Then came the first, saying, ‘Master, your mina has earned ten minas.’

17 “And he said to him, ‘Well done, good servant; because you were faithful in a very little, have authority over ten cities.’

20 “Then another came, saying, ‘Master, here is your mina, which I have kept put away in a handkerchief.

21 ‘For I feared you, because you are an austere man. You collect what you did not deposit, and reap what you did not sow.’

22 “And he said to him, ‘Out of your own mouth I will judge you, you wicked servant. You knew that I was an austere man, collecting what I did not deposit and reaping what I did not sow.

23 ‘Why then did you not put my money in the bank, that at my coming I might have collected it with interest?’

Our Heavenly Father has given each of us gifting’s and abilities. Actually, according to this story those gifts are all about the same in quantity though they me be different in substance. We have them and we live the life that we live using them as we will. Are we excited about things of God and His Kingdom, and use our talents and gifts to build it? Then maybe we are like the first servant who turned one portion into ten times as much. In the story there was another that returned 5 times as much in verse 18 and 19, which I skipped to save time and space.

Then comes the last dude. His concept of “fearing God” is based on actual fear of what God will do if he fails! So rather than try and perhaps fail, he just hides what he has been given so that he can give it back for no return. I am pretty sure that the “Master” would have been happy to have received only ½ a Mina back if the servant had at least tried to put it to use.

How does this story fit you and me today?

Seems somewhat obvious to me, for my own life. God gave me talents and abilities for this life (my Mina). I used those talents and abilities to build a life, raise a family and whatever else I chose to do with them. If that’s all that I did – then perhaps I did hide my Mina in the dirt and will have only the Mina given to return to my Master. But if I Accepted Jesus as My Lord, If I supported my church and did the minimum – then I at least can return the Mina wit interest. But if I chose to work at my Christian calling and did those things “that I could do” within the church setting, then I begin to have multiple Mina’s to return, don’t I? If I introduce someone to the Lord, or if I pray with people, or if I use teaching abilities to help others to understand the Gospel. I may even be so blessed as to use singing talents to lead worship, or to use speaking talents to teach and preach.

No matter what the gifting, we can use it for Kingdom or for self. We’ll receive reward for Kingdom work with (whatever the “Cities” symbolize). There’s no eternal reward for using the talents (Mina) for buying Mansions and Mercedes! Nothing wrong with those except if that’s all we use our talents for.

What can you do, how can you use the talents and abilities that He gave – to build the kingdom today?

Ron

About Ron

Former life - Quality Engineer / retired Current life - Prayer minister / Prayer Counselor / Retired
This entry was posted in Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

