Fuller than Full?

2 Kings 2 (NKJV)

9 And so it was, when they had crossed over, that Elijah said to Elisha, “Ask! What may I do for you, before I am taken away from you?” Elisha said, “Please let a double portion of your spirit be upon me.”

10 So he said, “You have asked a hard thing. Nevertheless, if you see me when I am taken from you, it shall be so for you; but if not, it shall not be so.”

I am researching this scripture from this morning’s reading. I read from several commentators that Elisha was not asking for twice as much “spirit” as Elijah had. Instead, he was just asking for the first-born sons’ portion as described in Deuteronomy. The First born son was to get twice as much of the inheritance than any other sibling. This makes is seem less demanding then if he had been asking to be twice a great as Elijah! So, that was interesting…

I have heard people pray for another person – for a double portion of the Spirit. I’m pondering just what would it mean to ask for or receive a double portion of Gods Spirit. Can I get a double portion of the Holy Spirit, as we know it today? I’m thinking on first blush – that that would be pretty impossible. I see the infilling of the Holy Spirit like filling a glass with water. If it’s already full – you can’t double the amount that’s in there!

So maybe it’s meant in the vein of the scripture that I shared above – to receive twice as much as anyone else around you has. But then that contradicts the meaning of the word full!

I’m sure not sure what people mean today when they pray for a “Double Portion”.

I think I will let this one marinate for a while and see if I get any clarity.

Any insights for me – leave a comment…

Ron

About Ron

Former life - Quality Engineer / retired Current life - Prayer minister / Prayer Counselor / Retired
This entry was posted in Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

